2016...A brand new year with new faces and new challenges...

Welcome back to all of you! Some new and exciting changes have been made within the School of Management Sciences. Professor Madéle Tait has been appointed as Director of the School as from 1 January 2016.

Professor Tait has been in the higher education environment since 1989. She was an NRF rated researcher and twice Faculty Researcher of the Year Runner-up. She is editor/co-editor of a number of books and author of a number of chapters in various books. One of the more recent ones is the well-known, "Principles of Marketing", for which she is the South African editor. She has written articles in national and international journals and presented papers at a number of national and international conferences. Together with her co-authors, she has received four Best Paper Awards.

ABOVE: Professor Madéle Tait

Madéle's vision for the School is to be the leader of a current, modern School of Management Sciences which is at the rock face of management education and research and strives to not only satisfy our internal clients (staff members) and external clients (students), but to delight them.

Another change in the School is Mr Gavin Cook who has been appointed as Head of Department of Logistics Management. He replaces Professor Gideon Horn who has retired. Mr Cook brings many valuable skills to the table which includes 12 years of industry experience in Logistics as well as 16 years of teaching experience in the field of Supply Chain, Purchasing and Materials Management.

ABOVE: Mr Gavin Cook

In the Department of Marketing Management, Dr Marlé van Eyk is currently the acting Head of Marketing Management. She has been appointed in a permanent position for the past three years and is currently lecturing at Duale Hochschule Baden Württemberg, Mosbach in Germany. Her field of interest is Experience Marketing.

ABOVE: Dr Marlé van Eyk

The Departments of Business Management and Management Practice are headed up by Professor Eileen Mazibuko and Dr Joe Zeelie respectively, who are not new in their positions. Both of them are knowledgeable and respected academics in their respective fields.

A special thanks to our previous Director of School, Professor Miemie Struwig, for the sound foundation that she left behind.

May you all have a blessed 2016!